Page 1 of 1

Multilevel application

Posted: November 4th, 2020, 1:55 am
by muhaliraza
I have a data entry application with two levels (1) household and (2) individual. Can any one help me in controlling the entry of 2nd level.

Re: Multilevel application

Posted: November 4th, 2020, 9:39 am
by Gregory Martin
We always advise against using multiple level applications unless you definitely have a reason to use them because they are a bit hard to work with. However, if you want to stop entering data on the second level, you typically do this by executing an endlevel command in the preproc of the second level.

Re: Multilevel application

Posted: November 5th, 2020, 12:01 pm
by muhaliraza
Thanks it will work. The control works fine but after the acceptance of individual all node. When i checked into the data there is not entry in 2nd level.

Re: Multilevel application

Posted: November 5th, 2020, 1:00 pm
by Gregory Martin
If you want you can send your application to cspro@lists.census.gov and we can take a look at what is happening.

Re: Multilevel application

Posted: November 5th, 2020, 1:27 pm
by muhaliraza
I converted the app into 6.3 from 7.5 and in 6.3 the app is working fine. I just email the both version 7.5 and 6.3 application.

Re: Multilevel application

Posted: November 6th, 2020, 12:45 am
by muhaliraza
Dear Gregory,
Did get any chance to look into the application.

Re: Multilevel application

Posted: November 9th, 2020, 11:27 am
by Gregory Martin
The behavior of processing second level nodes did change when moving to CSPro 7.0. I can see if we can get the old behavior back for future versions, but in the meantime you can move this code in PROC WOMEN from the postproc to the preproc:
  xwomen = 0;
 
do i = 1 until i > TOTAL_PERSONS
   
if wenter(i) = 2 then
     
xwomen = xwomen + 1
   
endif;
 
enddo;
 
if xwomen = TOTAL_ELIGIBLE_WOMEN then
    endlevel
  endif
;
Let me know if that doesn't work, but from my testing (on another application), executing endlevel from the level preproc works whereas there are problems if it is executed from the postproc.