Unwanted "Select Process" Dialog Box - 'Run in Parts'

Discussions about tabulating data in the designer or in batch mode
Post Reply
rkingcso
Posts: 6
Joined: February 1st, 2013, 10:40 am

Unwanted "Select Process" Dialog Box - 'Run in Parts'

Post by rkingcso »

Good day,

I have an application that has been working perfectly.

Among other things it will automatically create a .pff for a Tabulation Application that is based on information supplied by the user at run-time. It will then run the Tabulation Application.

Recently, the entire application was copied to another folder. All other functionality works exactly as before ... except the automatic running of the Tabulation Application. The folder it has been copied to is actually SHORTER than the previous one. However, the attached messages are now appearing.

1. "Select Process" Dialog Box.
The User Must Select All and then Click the OK Button.
The help button indicates this appears if the user is trying to "Run in Parts" the tabulation. This is NOT the case.

2. "Choose an Input File Name" Message Box.
This is NOT necessary since the .PFF already has the Input File

3. "Define Tab Associations" Dialog Box.
The User Must Click Cancel

4. "CSTab" Dialog Box.
The User Must Click OK. Then the Tabulation Application will run.

As indicated before, the above four steps are totally unnecessary when the CSPro System is run from the original file location.

Your assistance in troubleshooting this problem will be appreciated.

Thank you.
Attachments
3 - Click Cancel - Even Though The Input Field is Blank - Because the PFF has an Input File.PNG
3 - Click Cancel - Even Though The Input Field is Blank - Because the PFF has an Input File.PNG (38.98 KiB) Viewed 7081 times
2 - Must Click OK - To Message to Choose Input File.PNG
2 - Must Click OK - To Message to Choose Input File.PNG (44.76 KiB) Viewed 7081 times
1 - Must Select ALL and then Click OK.PNG
1 - Must Select ALL and then Click OK.PNG (46.71 KiB) Viewed 7081 times
Gregory Martin
Posts: 1806
Joined: December 5th, 2011, 11:27 pm
Location: Washington, DC

Re: Unwanted "Select Process" Dialog Box - 'Run in Parts'

Post by Gregory Martin »

This seems strange. Just to make sure that the Tabulation Operation is set correctly, right-click on the .pff and select "Edit with PFF Editor." Click on the Options menu and make sure that "Expert Mode" is checked. You should see this:
pffEditor.png
pffEditor.png (2.41 KiB) Viewed 7077 times
If all of that is fine, can you send your application to cspro@lists.census.gov? We can try to figure out why the path name might be triggering those prompts.
lmangcahan
Posts: 25
Joined: September 7th, 2021, 3:45 am

Re: Unwanted "Select Process" Dialog Box - 'Run in Parts'

Post by lmangcahan »

Hi Greg,

Is it possible to completely remove this prompt? Since our Data File is in csdbe format, we supply the password through the pff and we don't want the user to see that password.

Thank you in advance.
Gregory Martin
Posts: 1806
Joined: December 5th, 2011, 11:27 pm
Location: Washington, DC

Re: Unwanted "Select Process" Dialog Box - 'Run in Parts'

Post by Gregory Martin »

Add this to your PFF and you won't see the prompt:

Silent=Yes
Post Reply