cspro and Malwarebytes

Other discussions about CSPro
Post Reply
AriSilva
Posts: 499
Joined: July 22nd, 2016, 3:55 pm

cspro and Malwarebytes

Post by AriSilva » December 18th, 2020, 3:37 pm

I´m using Malware bytes as a virus protection, and today, out of nowhere it started to give me messages saying that cspro was a ransomware and put it in quarantine.
Well, I uninstalled cspro and downloaded the 7.5.1 from https://www.csprousers.org/downloads/
At installation time it said that it was not safe to install it, but I installed, and when I tried to execute a pff it put cspro again in quarantine.
I tried to go to the USBureau (https://www.census.gov/data/software/cspro.html) site to get the "official" version, and there is only the 7.5, not the 7.5.1
My version of the Malware is 4.2.3
Best
Ari

josh
Posts: 2399
Joined: May 5th, 2014, 12:49 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: cspro and Malwarebytes

Post by josh » December 18th, 2020, 8:55 pm

I don't know the specifics of Malware bytes but we have had other antivirus applications generate false positives for CSPro. In such cases there is a way in the virus software settings to add an exception. I suggest you do that. The version on csprousers.org is the latest version to use. We are working on getting it posted to census.gov but it takes longer to do that. We will also try to contact Malware bytes to report the false positive. We have done that with other vendors in the past.

josh
Posts: 2399
Joined: May 5th, 2014, 12:49 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: cspro and Malwarebytes

Post by josh » December 18th, 2020, 9:13 pm

I looked at the Malware bytes website and unlike the other vendors they do not have simple way to upload a false positive. The support website said to post their forum which I have done: https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/2 ... -software/

You might want to submit a support ticket with them to get a quicker resolution: https://support.malwarebytes.com/hc/en-us/requests/new

josh
Posts: 2399
Joined: May 5th, 2014, 12:49 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: cspro and Malwarebytes

Post by josh » December 18th, 2020, 9:46 pm

Ari, they responded to my post and are asking for scan logs. Could you respond on their forum and provide logs? https://forums.malwarebytes.com/topic/2 ... -software/

AriSilva
Posts: 499
Joined: July 22nd, 2016, 3:55 pm

Re: cspro and Malwarebytes

Post by AriSilva » December 19th, 2020, 3:53 am

I´ve done that.
Just in case, see attached log here.
Attachments
MBAMSERVICE.LOG
(979.92 KiB) Downloaded 44 times
Best
Ari

josh
Posts: 2399
Joined: May 5th, 2014, 12:49 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: cspro and Malwarebytes

Post by josh » December 19th, 2020, 9:22 am

Looks like they have fixed the problem based on their last post. Please try installing it again when you get a chance,

Post Reply