problem of scanning a barcode in China

Discussions about creating CAPI applications to run on Android devices
jinnee6603
Posts: 9
Joined: May 26th, 2021, 5:21 am

Re: problem of scanning a barcode in China

Post by jinnee6603 » June 13th, 2021, 12:00 am

Hi Greg,

Sorry for replying this late.

Some of the tablets/mobiles I tested in China have google play services installed. Some do not. But as google play is blocked in China, could it be deactivated?

My colleagued tried scanning barcodes with the same CSEntry program with internet off. And it worked. So we know that it does not require internet.

But if it requires google play or google account to be activated, is there any way to solve it? otherwise, it will not work on any tablets/mobiles in China, even if it is bought outside China with google services installed.

best

jing

Gregory Martin
Posts: 1494
Joined: December 5th, 2011, 11:27 pm
Location: Washington, DC

Re: problem of scanning a barcode in China

Post by Gregory Martin » June 14th, 2021, 9:49 am

You can read more about Google Play Services here: https://fossbytes.com/google-play-services-necessity/

It's a set of libraries, including the barcode processing library. The barcode library works regardless of Internet access, as you colleague discovered.

Without that library installed, the only option to read a barcode would be to connect to another Android app that can read barcodes. Depending on how that app works, you could communicate with it via SystemApp: https://www.csprousers.org/help/CSPro/systemapp.html

jinnee6603
Posts: 9
Joined: May 26th, 2021, 5:21 am

Re: problem of scanning a barcode in China

Post by jinnee6603 » June 18th, 2021, 11:09 am

Hi Greg,

Thanks for your reply.

I am sure that I have registered google account on my mobile and also google play services installed. But I guess when I am in China, all google services are deactivated, including the library.

I will try with VPN later, and let you know whether it will work with VPN.

best

jing

Post Reply