Web development

Discussions about syncing data via Bluetooth, Dropbox, FTP, and using CSWeb
Yihun_Shegnew
Posts: 22
Joined: November 30th, 2017, 11:56 am

Web development

Postby Yihun_Shegnew » April 14th, 2018, 2:13 am

Dear all
I want to know if the web development downloaded on my laptop to configure and install csweb on my laptop ?
OR any other mechanisms instead of this?

Thanks

bmuganda
Posts: 30
Joined: January 18th, 2018, 11:57 am

Re: Web development

Postby bmuganda » April 14th, 2018, 12:28 pm

I am not sure what you meant, but I guess you have downloaded csweb and you need to configure it. Well, better deployment is on apache webserver, so you might consider installing xampp, wamp or any web server of your choice.

josh
Posts: 1634
Joined: May 5th, 2014, 12:49 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: Web development

Postby josh » April 16th, 2018, 7:16 am

CSWeb can run on any system that supports Apache or IIS plus MySQL and PHP. Running CSWeb on your PC or laptop is possible and is fine for testing. For use in a production survey you will need to have a server that is accessible on the internet which usually involves getting a static ip address and a domain name as well as setting up proper security including obtaining and SSL certificate. Rather than set up your own server you should consider using one in the cloud provided by a web hosting company. If you are not sure what all of the above means then you should probably use Dropbox for synchronization rather than CSWeb. CSWeb is meant for large survey operations and for users who know how to manage websites.

Yihun_Shegnew
Posts: 22
Joined: November 30th, 2017, 11:56 am

Re: Web development

Postby Yihun_Shegnew » April 23rd, 2018, 3:10 pm

Thanks josh!

arkagwa
Posts: 88
Joined: November 18th, 2014, 5:25 am

Re: Web development

Postby arkagwa » April 26th, 2018, 8:51 am

Dear Josh

Is it possible to set automatic sync in the cspro data entry form? May be when it reached certain specific time sync is done by the system! 8-)

josh
Posts: 1634
Joined: May 5th, 2014, 12:49 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: Web development

Postby josh » April 26th, 2018, 6:01 pm

We are planning to add an easy way to do that in the future. For now you could do it on your own if you use a menu program and sync from logic. You could sync every time you return to the menu or you could save the last sync time using savesetting/loadsetting and check it against the current time to only sync once a day or something like that.


Return to “Synchronization”