Showing Text Boxes

Discussions about CSEntry
claudia
Posts: 37
Joined: May 9th, 2017, 6:23 am

Showing Text Boxes

Postby claudia » February 13th, 2018, 11:13 am

Hi,

On my laptop (windows) version of the questionnaire form there are a few instructions to questions which are in the format of text boxes (e.g. "the next 10 questions are about the services you used during your recent pregnancy").

On my Android device these text boxes don't appear. How can I make them appear?

Many thanks,
Claudia

sah
Posts: 92
Joined: May 28th, 2015, 3:16 pm

Re: Showing Text Boxes

Postby sah » February 14th, 2018, 12:37 am

Hello !
On the tablet the message will not show. The alternative approach is to use errmsg function.
so for instance in your situation
using

Code: Select all

 errmsg("the next 10 questions are about the services you used during your recent pregnancy") ;

hannesrr
Posts: 29
Joined: January 8th, 2013, 5:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Showing Text Boxes

Postby hannesrr » February 14th, 2018, 3:14 pm

Hello Claudia,

You have to use CAPI mode and add the instructions on the position of your question.
When you develope with CSPRO for Android device, only you can see the name of item (question) and the text of CAPI Mode.

Regards,

Hannes :geek:
Perú
Hannes Rodriguez :geek:

josh
Posts: 1496
Joined: May 5th, 2014, 12:49 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: Showing Text Boxes

Postby josh » February 15th, 2018, 2:15 pm

Similarly sometimes it is useful to add a "dummy" question to your application to display instructions. You put the instruction in the question text in CAPI mode as Hannes suggests but instead of putting it in with the text for one of the other questions you make it a question by iteslf. Create a dummy variable in the dictionary, add it to the form and put the instruction in the question text. Add a value set with only one option, "continue", as the only response. When you get to your dummy question, the interviewer will see the instruction and then tap "continue" to move the next question.


Return to “Entry”